Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Bargaining Bulletin No. 1: Contract Committee meets in Ottawa

The CATCA Contract Committee met September 26-30, 2016 in Ottawa to prepare the groundwork for the upcoming round of collective bargaining.

In attendance were President, Peter Duffey; Executive Vice-President, Doug Best; Regional Vice Presidents; elected Contract Committee members; Unifor Director of Transportation, Joel Fournier; and Labour Relations Consultant, Abe Rosner.

The meetings began with President Duffey welcoming the Committee and providing an overview of the situation facing both the Company and the Union. He particularly highlighted both the unique challenges and opportunities that lie ahead in the weeks to come.

The Committee then began a detailed review of the hundreds of contract proposals received from Branches across the country – filtering, combining, and clarifying the concerns brought forward by the membership. After a second review, subcommittees were created to look at some major topics in greater depth and report back to the full group.

The meetings were characterized by a strong spirit of teamwork, in line with the mandate of the Contract Committee which has been developed over the years:

  • To faithfully reflect and bring forward the views and concerns of the members in each area and facility, as well as of the membership as a whole;
  • To provide necessary guidance and resources to the negotiators at every stage;
  • To regularly communicate with and update the members; and
  • To deliver the best possible tentative agreement for the members’ approval.

The Contract Committee would like to thank all members who took an interest and formulated proposals for improving our collective agreement and the working conditions of Canada’s Air Traffic Controllers as a whole. The next meetings are scheduled in Ottawa October 11-14, 2016.

In solidarity,
Peter Duffey                                                                      Doug Best
President                                                                           Executive Vice President


Click here for the PDF.