

January 2019 Executive Board Meeting Ottawa Marriott Hotel, Ottawa, ON January 10, 2019

Present: Peter Duffey President

Doug Best Executive Vice President

Ian ThomsonRegional Vice President, AtlanticBenoit VachonRegional Vice President, St-LaurentDavid DoerksenRegional Vice President, CentralJerry BrodtRegional Vice President, Prairie

Invited Guests: Grant Boland

The President called the board meeting to order at 2pm.

Award of Honour

The Executive Board (EB) met to discuss and review the Award of Honour. This is awarded to air traffic controllers who have displayed exemplary professionalism in recognition of meritorious action taken during a time of duress which enabled the preservation of safety of passengers, aircrew, and aircraft. After this year's call for nominations, the EB did not receive any submissions. The EB discussed honouring all three nominees from last year, and it was unanimously decided to promote its members who go above and beyond. Therefore, we will invite the runners-up to convention for acknowledgment in addition to Mr. Kevin Findlay, Edmonton ACC. The EB has invited Mr. Ben Kotrla of Winnipeg ACC, and Mr. Stephen Newman of Toronto ACC to convention to recognize their work as well.

Award of Merit

Awarded for personal contribution to individuals who have displayed an unselfish dedication to the Union, its goals, and their fellow members. This year the EB had two submission for the award of Merit. After consideration the EB will honour Mr. Dennis Mitchell Gander ACC as the 2018 winner of the CATCA Award of Merit. Dennis will be presented the Award at the upcoming convention in Banff.

Volunteer Service Awards

Three years ago the EB decided to introduce an award to acknowledge the great contributions CATCA members make to the Association. The award winners have given countless personal hours to better the working conditions of their fellow members. The following members will be recognized at the upcoming convention in Banff and will receive the Volunteer Service Award.

- Ms. Charly Stratton Pacific
- Mr. Jeff Timmy Prairie
- Mr. Kevin Gauthier Central
- Mr. Jonathan Daoust St. Laurent
- Mr. Wayne Badcock Atlantic

Executive Board Member Eligibility

Mr. Brodt brought forward a request from Springbank (BW) Tower with regards to CATCA By-Law 7.8. The request came forward in an attempt to add a clause to the By-Law and to allow for a member in good standing from any region have the ability to stand for any Regional Vice Presidents position where there were no candidates. The EB discussed the proposal. The debate centered on original intent and it is the position of the EB that this defeats the intent of By-Law 7. Jerry proposed the following resolution.

Resolution No. 1

Be it resolved that a clause be added to 7.8 of the Union By-Laws which allows a member in good standing from any region to have the ability to stand for any Regional Vice President position where no candidate came forward.

Moved by: Jerry Brodt Seconded by: none

Motion Defeated

Sponsorship

The Organizing Committee (OC) of the annual ATC Hockey Tournament have approached the CATCA EB and asked it to reconsider a decision made last year to not sponsor the tournament. In the past years CATCA has always come forward and has sponsored this event, which was normally done with the purchase of pucks. The circumstances which surrounded the withdrawal of the sponsorship surrounded inappropriate activities and venues chosen by Mr. John Livingston, member of the OC, was previously explained the reasons for the denial of the funds. In his response there was a guarantee given that such inappropriate activities will not take place. The EB further discussed and it was agreed that with a guarantee from the OC, which Mr. Best asked for in writing, that CATCA will sponsor pucks for the tournament. Mr. Thomson will coordinate the details.

Meeting adjourned at 4pm.	
In solidarity,	
Peter Duffey President	Doug Best Executive Vice President